Ice Dyed & Block Printed garb – Sold

I’ve got a box full of old martial arts uniforms – and when I asked if there was a way to repurpose them for Amtgard, one of the suggestions was making them into easy garb. That sounded great, and inspired me.

So I ice dyed the jacket and pants with various blues. I really liked how it turned out, and so abandoned my original plan, which would have done applique over the cool central design.

imageInstead, I tried to use a Rivermoor kingdom block, and glow in the dark paint, to print the kingdom device randomly over the jacket and pants. For more about block printing – see Block Printing on Dyed Bandanas.

But for whatever reason, the glow in the dark paint just wouldn’t adhere to the block and make good prints. So I used white paint to stamp the kingdom’s device on the set. I’ve found that there is a great diversity in how the fabric screen print ink behaves, from color to color. They aren’t even all the same thickness, and you’d think they would be.

imageAfter the paint is fully dry, these went into a hot commercial dryer for 36 minutes, to heat set the paint.

The pants have a max waist of 40″. Jacket & pants are a size 4.  (Check here for the size chart) There is some wear and tear (after all, these gi’s were used for Aikido for years). Thus, a bargain price of $20, to show your kingdom pride.

Leave a comment